O is for the Ogham Alphabet

An alphabet script, with symbols representing sounds or individual letters. Read left to right along one line or straight edge, they can be found on standing stones, rocks of spiritual significance and are recorded as being scratched into trees to communicate with the spirits.

I do love trees.

Everything I write, on a magical level, has to feature trees in one way or another. For years I’ve been quite taken with the Ogham alphabet. Although I will point out here that I have never properly understood it.

Is it of Celtic origin, Druidic? No one actually knows its true origin. And, that’s fine with me, I quite like ancient mysteries to remain a little mysterious…

*Sad fact: When I play on Minecraft with my kids, our town/village/world always, ALWAYS, has to have a World Tree, or a Tree of Life, or some such other. Usually made out of glowstone, lol.*

Anyway…

It did become a little tricksy for me when I was trying to decide whether or not to include it in my book. I knew that I wanted a coded message for my wytches and the magical creatures to communicate with each other – not all of them have telepathic powers. (there is also another reason, but I’m not at liberty to say)

But how do I convey this with the Ogham alphabet?

If I don’t use it, do I create a secret code that the reader can easily identify but one that isn’t too easily identifiable by the other characters.

Can I even come up with a secret code that is realistic and magical?

Sod it, just use the Ogham alphabet!

Wait.

“Oh, c’mon Michelle – How many people know the Ogham alphabet anyway?”

Grr. Do you see where I’ve been? This has been whizzing in my head since I signed up for the A-Z. Now we’re at O and I’m still arguing with myself about it. Well, no more! I’ve ran out of time…

I’ve come to the conclusion that;

a) I will use the alphabet of the trees, because I love trees!

b) Because it ties in beautifully with the story.

c) It can be easily explained along the way in my omniscient narrative. Oh damn! O!

 

Click on the picture to translate an Ogham script – Nifty little find eh?

ogham alphabet

 

 

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

7 responses to “O is for the Ogham Alphabet

Leave a Reply

