Y is for Yggdrasil

The World Tree.

Odin’s Tree.

Ash Gallows.

Terrible Steed.

All names that are given to the tree that stands at the centre of the universe in Norse mythology.

In stanza 19 of the poem of the Poetic Edda, the Volva describes the tree:

“I know that an Ash tree stands called Yggdrasil,

a high tree, soaked with shining loam;

from there come the dews that which fall in the valley,

ever green, it stands over the wyrd.”

If you’ve been keeping an eye on my posts, you’ll know that trees and tree lore are featuring quite heavily in my book, as well as Norse myth and legend. Therefore how could I resist the Yggdrasil.

It is said that the nine worlds, three wells, the two ravens of Odins and a dragon are connected by the tree.

I’m using this visual for connecting my characters and the four elements with each other. The world tree – which I am still yet to name, will be at the centre of Dagda Mead. I’m toying with the idea of having it in the square of the capital city, just to annoy the King, lol.

If any one has any suggestions as to what I can call the tree, let me know in the comments!

I did think maybe I should combine it with the tree that Gold Leaf is hanged from (the sleeping tree) but that’s over in the western quarter of Mariburgh and I would have to move that story line

It’s roots will connect to each of the four quarters, and it shall be used by magical people to communicate to the spirits of ancestry, and the creatures who I’ve discussed with you previously. It also will hold a few clues as to where the main character is going.

Yggdrasil

 

 

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

2 responses to “Y is for Yggdrasil

Leave a Reply

