Plot Holes

Having been quite consumed this last couple of weeks by my other project that I’m co-authoring, I haven’t spent as much time as I would have liked on Wytch.

However, this has turned into quite a good thing: One, is that while I’ve neglected my writing and blogger duties, I have been able to let my cooking pot of ideas simmer into something a little more flavour-able.

The second is that when you leave a project to rest for a while and return to it with fresh eyes, you see things that you hadn’t noticed before. As is the case for me and Wytch.

This in itself has proven to be twofold; A massive problem in one of the plot lines stared up at me with unblinking eyes. Secondly, it’s allowed my characters to show what facets of their character is lacking.

Which has led me to ask the question: are my characters driving the plot or is my plot shaping my characters.

Sure, our plot has to shape our characters, just as life shapes us, they change, we change, there’s a whole lot of growth and adapting going on! But… Which comes first? (Chicken? Egg?)

For example, one of my characters Sybille began life as the Queen, first wife of Mael.

Together they have a child, that child is Wytch – In order for Mael to not find out that Sybille has bore him a “corrupt” infant, she instructs her hand maiden, Ellen, to kill the child.

Ellen, instead, takes the child to Agnistead to be bought up by her spiritual and most faithful friend, The Chief.

Sybille then decided that she was best suited as a magical creature, rather than a human…

A Water Creature, in the disguise of a human, who tricks Mael into marrying her.

This sent me down a new road of discovery, in order to explain the affliction of the wyt, interspecies breeding could be the answer! A mundane + A magical creature, such as the Nixen or the Pan = A Wytch.

 

On top of this, the reader being allowed into this little secret from the beginning and keeping it hidden from the characters would create a feeling of involvement with the reader whilst keeping the real truth hidden from them.

I was quite happy with the way it turned out, Sybille seemed to want to be a magical creature from water, instead of a “normal” human. I took notes, I charted the plot line, I wrote.

I then got busy with my other project. (So exciting! Can’t wait to tell you all about that!)

After my couple of weeks break from Wytch, I realised with dramatised horror that there was an almighty plot hole. (This would be the unblinking eyes I spoke of above)

Whether Sybille is a magical creature or not, how the hell do I explain the baby? Yes, the baby born with wyt is an interspecies, Meal must not learn that he has fathered a wytch child. (so far, all fine!) Sybille instructs Ellen to take the child and kill her, (yep, sure.)

Where’s the body?

Surely the King would expect a body of his first child, the princess, to be available to him to say goodbye, to bury her. Wouldn’t he?

I don’t like loop holes. And that’s a great big bloody chasm!

But it’s okay. After all, Sybille is a water creature, a Nixen. She has magical friends from the other quarters of Air, Earth and Fire. And what are these creatures if not magical? Magic is the key!

Whilst it is true that I don’t like using magic to explain away plot holes, where reason and logic can be applied. I also don’t like those plot holes that can’t have reason and logic applied to them. The only answer here is magic.

Of course, the book itself is about magic, and the mundane worlds view of it. Therefore, this is a perfect example to add to why Mael wants rid of it; why he is working so hard to extract it from his kingdom.

This will give him a far deeper need to drive his story forward, it will also give him more emotional conflict when faced with the decision of killing his daughter when they finally meet.

The Kings character now, seems more fleshed out, more emotive, and I have actually started to feel a little happier with him now than I ever did before. It felt, for a while, that he was just beyond my reach, aloof even.

From one character changing the plot (Sybille), to the plot in turn changing another character (Mael).

(I think this means that the chicken came first!)

It has also allowed me to create a new story line within a story. And I like it when that happens 🙂

Rest is always good for the writer. I hope it proves good for the reader too!

Have a great weekend all of you, whether that means writing, or resting…

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

Leave a Reply

