None for Sorrow

Corvidae – the enigmatic family of birds. My favourite creatures of air – Mainly the crow.

However, the magpie has managed to worm its way into my heart with its clack, clack, clack, and friendly visits into my garden. Regardless of what people say, I don’t believe the magpie is responsible for the decline of the songbird. Certainly not the community in our little patch of the world anyway.

Last week though, bought with it a little bit of sorrow, that the popular rhyme would have us believe is for one magpie. Not so. For us it’s none for sorrow.

One of our magpies went missing. Couldn’t be seen or heard. The following day, the partner was found on our rooftop shouting out and calling in distress – that’s a sound I didn’t like to hear. The large group of wood pigeons who live in our neighbours garden and trees were circling her/him, and they too were shouting. I spent hours trying to coax them away and the magpie down to no avail. Poor thing.

The wood pigeons remained on our roof for a couple of days. The magpie was silent, and I haven’t seen or heard of him/her since.

Over the next few days I managed to impersonate the village idiot ideal, by walking around the street staring up at the roofs and in the trees making stupid noises and asking anyone and everyone if they had seen my magpie. The kids and hubby weren’t too impressed with my sudden descent into madness, and I was coaxed back indoors.

So, here’s a little picture in memory of the Mr and Mrs, and a little fact or two about magpies which you may, or may not know.

Magpie by Jill Pakenham

Magpie is often associated with witchcraft, prophecy and divination. It tells us to pay close attention to spiritual aspects in our life.

Follow your dreams and your hunches when Magpie comes into your life, for they represent omens, both good and bad – as displayed by their monochrome feathers.

Magpies are highly intelligent, can be tamed, and will mimic sounds if needed.

It is with a heavy heart that I say farewell to our glorious birds, and this post is a salute to the Mr and Mrs, who bought me much joy when I was in the garden.

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

Leave a Reply

