The Way of Wytch

It’s nearly here! NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.

Beginning on the 1st of November, your mission should you choose to accept it, is to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. That equates to 1,666 words per day. Not too shabby. Of course, this is about 200 pages long, so quite a short book really. But, as is my case, you don’t have to stick at exactly 50,000 words, keep going to 150,000 words if you like, or you can use the time to write the first draft and pad it all out later if you want.

It’s been running for years, but this is the first year I’m taking part. last year I tumbled around with the idea, but never really committed to it. Here’s the link NaNoWriMo 

There are forums, regional meet-ups, plenty of pep talks and tips to help you as you go. Even pretty badges and widgets…

 

Nano_logo   

 

 

 

 

 

 

I signed up at the last minute, I initially thought I would write one of my other projects, while I wrote my profile and uploaded a profile picture, it seemed that way. However, they asked me for a title, a synopsis, and an excerpt. I suddenly realised that Wytch would be perfect for it. I would have deadlines, I would be forced to reconcile my heroes fighting and figure out the plot holes that was keeping me back from moving forward with my book.

It was just the kick up the arse I needed!

Here I am: Saxton-Corner if you’re also taking part, look me up and we can be buddies – their terminology not mine!

With the start time on the horizon, the jolt worked. I sat myself down and moved the plot around, cancelled out some characters, who although I love them dearly, really had no place within the story. I got my notebooks out, rewrote the plot, redrew a map, and made a plan. I’m happy to say that I’m back to work and have fallen in love with my story all over again. Don’t get me wrong – blood shed was needed. But I’m back to locking myself in my room, demanding tea and quiet from my boys. They may be out a lot over the next month!

I’ll be keeping you all updated on my progress and will post excerpts along the way, so the blog will be back to normal now 🙂

Right, I need to stock up on sweeties and teabags. Good luck to any of you taking part, and I’ll see you all on the other side.

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

3 responses to “The Way of Wytch

  • joannesisco

    Good luck and best wishes! I have deep respect for anyone who can sit down and crank out a story over 30 days 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Hev

    Good luck. I first tried NaNoWriMo in 2011 and was so proud of myself when I got to just over 50,000 words by the end of November. The feeling of personal achievement (especially if you have never managed it before) is just amazing.
    Unfortunately I haven’t been able to replicate my success the following years and this year I don’t really have the time to take part at all. I look forward to hearing how you are getting on 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

