And so it begins…

I’ve spent the last couple of nights writing until around 4:00 am. I love it when this happens.

I’ve always been a night owl, and enjoy the silence that comes when everyone in my family sleeps and all I can hear is the wind outside and our neighbourhood (real) owl.

I have had a complete re-jig of Wytch.

When I first began this blog back in March it was with the intention of writing a book that I had a little idea of what was going to happen. I had some great characters forming in my head, a world that was beginning to show itself to me in which to set the story in, and yet no real plot. Vague ideas floated around.

I knew I wanted it to be about magic. I had the central structure of my magical rules balanced out. I knew that three characters’ lives  in particular had to collide in one way or another.

So, I played around with a few scenes and had fun creating situations and gathering information for my world. I even drew out a map and dreamed up the way in which my characters would measure time, how they perceived the after life , and other small things that contribute hugely to world building.

The A-Z Challenge in April was extremely useful to me with much of the planning, however it also allowed me to get carried away. I was a balloon, floating ever higher into the sky, and when I looked down I realised, I had forgotten about the story, the adventure, I could no longer see the world as it was supposed to be, only a blur of colours.

As I said previously, when I decided to join NaNoWriMo, I had to completely re-work my book idea.  I removed scenes and characters, I changed some of the story line, and now I hope, the book will flow. I’ve come down from the balloon and discovered my borders and boundaries, I have a clear view of the journey.

The past will now stay in the past, but the history will be hinted at and folk stories told through the present day characters. Magic will be explained throughout, instead of me trying so desperately to explain the workings of it in text book style. The biggest decision I made was to change the format of my heroes. It drove me mad, with two characters constantly fighting over who was to be the star of the show! I hope I’ve done the right thing.

I’ve been at it now for two days, and managed 10,000  words or so. I am pleased so far with what I’ve written, I have plans to continue to write as much as possible.

I’m not editing as I go either, which always seems to be my downfall, it’s so far about the word count, and getting the story told. Editing will come later, as it does with my short stories. It just means that there won’t be any excerpts posted here for a while!

 

 

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

One response to “And so it begins…

Leave a Reply

