My NaNo Week

It’s been a fairly productive week for me and Wytch. I’ve managed my personal goal of 20,000 words, and so far (fingers crossed) things are running smoothly.

 

 

I wrote my first 7000 or so on the Friday night, after all the celebrations of Samhain, and with NaNo kicking off at midnight, I thought what the hell. I sat up very late (or should that be very early?)

On Saturday (kick off day) I got myself into Town to the pub to meet with other NaNoers from my region. I didn’t stay long, as although they all seemed like a nice crowd, they obviously knew each other from previous years. With my previous late night and plans already for that afternoon and evening, I don’t think I was in the most sociable of moods. I won’t be going for the second meet-up, but may go along for the third – as long as I’ve had some decent sleep!

By Monday I had focus and determination gnawing at me. It was great! I’ve been very surprised with how much motivation this has given me. The pep talks are quite interesting, especially if you’re new to NaNo.

One thing I did learn about this little online club, is all the wonderful people – I’ve got some great buddies and we are messaging each other with words of encouragement and lots of cheer leading  as we all plod on with achieving our word target.

So far, it’s an interesting journey. One of self discovery as well. I never used to plan much with my writing. I enjoyed the act of sitting down with a notebook and free writing, which I would then type up and edit as I went. However, not much got to the finish line. I then took a great leap faith and decided to co-author a project. a great big project I might add, that has been some time in the making, and is not any where near completion yet, but that’s ok, because it’s a  lot of fun 🙂

My writing partner is a planner. Everything needs to be thoroughly plotted, planned, researched and organised. This is great too.

It’s what I started to do with Wytch. But, I recently discovered, something that just doesn’t work for me on my own. Over the last year or so, I’ve written more than I ever have done, I’ve completed lots of short stories! I have done so because, while I plotted and planned a little, I also allowed myself to sit and free write. I allowed the characters to tell me which way they wanted to go. And with Wytch, this has worked. Yes, I planned and plotted, I also ended up scrapping a lot of the material I had done. So when, at the stroke of midnight on the first of November rang out, I sat and I simply wrote. Things change. Writing is a fluid art form, ever changing.

This week I learned that my King is not happy with how much weight he’s recently put on. That my cross dressing prince is actually gay. That my guardians can only tell the truth, and that the Raptures are hiding because they’re scared.

Also, the Wytches are darker than I had first intended them to be. Which has been a happy discovery. I didn’t want to have a story that was as simple as magic vs mundane. I needed it to be more of an exploration between the good and bad personality traits of everyone, whilst not letting that exploration eclipse the theme of book.

Anyway, my Quene is about to be exiled, so I really should push on. Happy Writing 🙂

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

One response to “My NaNo Week

  • joannesisco

    It’s interesting to read how a story in progress evolves. I guess I had always thought that a story is just “there” in the mind of the writer and their goal is to ‘simply’ get it out of their head onto (the proverbial) paper.

    I’m surprised to hear that in fact writing a story can take a writer in a direction that had not been preconceived … which is what your post implies. Somehow that sounds even more intimidating than the need to have a fully formed story in the first place!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

