A Little Over a Month

Bad blogger!

Bad, bad blogger!

It’s been a little over a month since my last post, and I have to say, once more, I’m sorry.

It’s not that I don’t feel it, or that I’m intentionally ignoring you, it’s just the physical act of booting this laptop up and having to wait a century for it to actually follow my orders is taking its toll.

I have been reading all of your blogs, however not commenting (Bad Bogger!!). This is due to the weirdness of my phone not connecting to the internet properly. Did I tell you already how crap I am with technology? Lol.

I hope it all changes soon. My phone contract ended last month and I asked for them to disconnect me, I took a pack number – or is it pac? I was supposed to find myself a new contract. It disconnects on Monday. I still haven’t found a new phone.

I also need a laptop. I have told you so many times now how terrible this machine is, in fact I think it began failing way back in April during the A-Z. I still haven’t found a new laptop.

Both my children have been sorted out with new computers and phones, so I know it’s not really a problem in looking for the right machine with the right specs and at the right price. I think it’s just a typical mum thing. Kids get sorted first, mum limps on regardless. However in the new year, I will be getting my act together! The limping has to stop.

This was finally realised mainly due to the road bump I hit during NaNoWriMo. The first week went swimmingly. I hit 20k and felt confident with the changes that were unfolding as I wrote. I kept going.

Then, my laptop started to misbehave, and I lost the will to turn it on. I continued to write with my lovely paper and ink. Notebooks and pens felt shiny and new again after a time without them. Nevertheless, the laptop needed to be cranked for me to transfer inky words to type.

This is when I discovered that I can’t write any more… None of the words made sense, hell, I couldn’t even distinguish the form of some (ok, most) letters. My writing has turned into an illegible scrawl of a doctors prescription. It is the literary version of  a wonky wheel on a shopping trolley. Aimless. Difficult. Wandering. (It suits my limp I suppose!)

I still finished NaNo. Thankfully. But, unless I manage to find an amazing new laptop for less than the cost of a calligraphy course I won’t be involved in next years writing marathon.

After my tantrums of “hating technology” and “sucking at writing” I needed time away. So I withdrew into the world of Far Cry 4 on the Xbox. As far as procrastination is concerned, this has been the most fun. But I should get on now.

I will be a better blogger.

Happy writing! 🙂

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

5 responses to “A Little Over a Month

  • joannesisco

    I know your pain. I have a turn-of-the-century cell phone (I feel the eyes of strangers staring at me when I use it in public) and my ancient laptop makes me twitch with impatience.
    For the most part I’ve solved the booting up problem by shutting down every 2-3 days. I boot it up while I go do something else.

    Good luck with the search for new technology. I haven’t reached the point of no return yet 😉

    Like

    • Saxton-Corner

      That’s so funny – But isn’t retro “in” right now, so maybe you should hold that phone with fashionable flair! I did the hibernate thing with my laptop, and only closed down occasionally, sadly, it’s past that point now. *sighs. However, I have faith a new one will magically appear…one day.

      Like

  • Stormy Heart

    Don’t feel bad about needing a break from blogging and writing! Sometimes that break helps us refocus or find our inspiration again. And I know from experience, having a crappy laptop is a major hindrance to this process.

    Wishing you luck in your search for a new laptop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

