This Time, it’s Personal

How are you all doing?

I thought I would have a post today about my hair!

I know – nothing to do with Wytch, nothing to do with anything really.

Sometimes, however, things just make me laugh. Which makes me want to share.

Maybe it’s a mid-life crisis thing, trying desperately to keep a hold on to a little of the attitude I used to have. You know, before kids came along.

Anyway… When I left school, I got an apprenticeship at a hair salon. A YTS (youth training scheme) I trained at college and worked in the salon; I got paid £29.50. Yep, them were days…

The only thing I actually liked about hairdressing was the colouring aspect and the fact that I got my hair done for free most weeks.

There was also that possibility, that some one, some day, would walk in with hair down to their knees and exclaim: “I’m so weary of carrying these heavy locks around with me all the time. Cut them off. Cut them all off at once!” (I know – no one really talks like that!)

It never happened. So, it was just me as a guinea pig for everyone else. Then came the point that I had no hair left to cut. It was in fact, already shaved at the back with just a tiny spike on top, so colour was the only thing left to do.

I tried everything I possibly could. I loved the possibilities, all the little tubes of colour lined up, ready to mix and match. There were SO many different colours I could experiment with: I had blonde, black, brown, copper, canary yellow, orange, blue I think at one point, and all the reds on the spectrum. Not all at once. Okay, occasionally all at once. 🙂 I even had green! Although, that was an accident and only stayed for an hour.

My hairdresser these days (actually for a long time now) gets the chance to colour my hair only rarely. I’m too busy, the kids have all my money etc.

But she got the chance today to cut it all off.

I get bored some times, today was it. So, I had my appointment at 11:00 and told her “Cut it off. Cut it all off!”

So she did!

She put it in a pony tail and snip – gone! We always wanted to try that. (I think that’s about 9-10 inches of pony tail.)

Awesome fun.

 

Thankfully, she didn’t leave it like that. We kept on cutting, we had a plan, and a style in mind. (Thank you Rhona!)

When I got home, I got a little bit crazy with the bleach and the purple.

I never had purple before. I felt it needed to be done, and there are so many amazing colours on the shelves now-a-days, that I couldn’t leave it out. Could I?

Sincere apologies for the terrible picture. I was trying to instruct my youngest how the camera on my phone works, and he just kept on snapping. I am not a photogenic person and cringe when having to have my pics taken. But, still I share with you. Only because it’s freaking purple!

Enjoy your week and think happy thoughts.

 

 

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

9 responses to “This Time, it’s Personal

Leave a Reply

