Witches Mirror

Not just used for applying make-up!

We are creatures ruled by vanity. We use a mirror several times throughout the day, to check our reflections, making sure that we are presentable for others. We use a mirror to communicate with us what other people may be seeing, and therefore, thinking about us. We use a mirror to help us mask ourselves, whether it’s make-up or hair styles, to help us shave or trim the beard, we hide behind a “look” – when I say we, I simply mean the we as human beings in general.

Not just used for scrying!

Witches will use many tools for their craft; athame, boline, wand, chalice, candles, incense etc. Usually a witch will also have an item used for scrying as well – to aid in seeing the future. This tool comes in many forms: tarot, runes, crystal ball, and more besides. Each witch will have her or his favourite, and will use it often. While the tools for divination and scrying are all very good in their own right. A mirror offers a bit more of an edge, magically speaking.

Yes, it can be used in spells – to send energies, either healing or banishing.

But the beauty of the magic mirror is in the exploring of your spirit. I have used a mirror on several occasions after going to a talk in the early 1990’s in my home town. It wasn’t a talk on witchcraft especially, although magic was mentioned, but more a talk on spiritual seeking and understanding the shadow self. My first real experience of mirroring was actually quite scary as we were invited to explore our shadow selves. This is something which scared the living daylights out of me.

As a child, and into my teens, I had suffered with night terrors. As an infant in my pushchair, my mum always had to walk in the shade as I was terrified of my own shadow – I tried to kick it off my feet whilst screaming. I also have a fairly dark imagination, so I panicked a little when presented with this exercise of exploring my inner demon.

It turned out to be one of my favourite rituals. I use the mirror for a lot of work where my own spiritual progression is required.I don’t use it very often for others. However, I have been asked to give a brief talk and demonstration tonight at the psychic group, in Long Eaton. I decided I would talk about the power of the mirror, and how it can help you with your psychic awareness, and especially with connecting with a guide.

It’s a simple technique, that anyone can do.

Some do find it quite scary at first: seeing your face change is weird right?

Some may find it too difficult: the eyes have to softly focus and can feel tired and heavy.

Some people can’t do it straight away and give up: it’s like those magic eye pictures that are made up of tiny dots and you have to stare at them just right to make the picture appear. If you can’t see those pictures, you will have to practice and persevere with the mirror. Unlike the magic eye pictures though, if you do persevere with it, eventually you will become better and achieve results.

I will mention here, that your intention is very important. Below are instructions to connect with your guide. I use the mirror for lots of things, and it is always wise to seek proper counsel and research any magical practice before going ahead.

If possible, do this at dusk, with just the one candle to offer light. Night time with all the lights off is no good, as then it will be too dark. So soft lighting is best.

Sit in front of your mirror with a candle in between you, placed slightly to the right.

Focus your gaze, softly, on your third eye – the place just above and in the middle of your eyebrows.

Ground yourself and imagine a bubble of protection around you. Only ever work in the light and with energies that are conducive to your own – the highest and the purest, in perfect love and perfect trust.

Make your intention clear, and breathe evenly and deeply, clearing your thoughts of all clutter and focusing only at the mirror and your intention. State, in your mind, that you are protected. Invite your guide to show themselves in the mirror, in your reflection.

You may have to repeat this several times. Watch as your face changes. Feel the differences in the energy around you – this will be their energy. Feel the difference in the energy within you – this is your energy when a clear connection is made with your guide.

After you have explored the energies and seen your guide, remember to say thank you and goodbye. Ground and centre yourself and blow out the candle.

It’s always wise to get a drink of water afterwards. Write your experience in a journal/notebook/bos, etc.

The more you do this, the more information will come through, and the more you’ll notice your guide’s energies in everyday life.

Enjoy! x

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

5 responses to “Witches Mirror

  • Ileandra Young

    I’ve never really thought of mirrors used in this way beyond the dross Hollywood sometimes comes out with.

    I hope you don’t mind me saying that this is an interesting, simple post that I’ve enjoyed a great deal. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saxton-Corner

      I don’t mind you saying that at all! Lol. Try it – you might see those horns of Ravens… x

      Like

      • Ileandra Young

        I think I’d be a little scared, if I’m honest.
        I’ve dabbled before . . . I kept a BOS and got myself an atheme (still don’t think I’m spelling that right) and crafted a wand using a stem from a willow tree I had a particular affinity for in the local park. I loved how peaceful I felt in the circle and how connected to the earth I was. Then I burned a hole in my bedroom carpet and got freaked out. It was nothing big, just carelessness on my part, but for some reason that sticks with me so much that I’ve never practised anything remotely wicca since.

        Like

      • Saxton-Corner

        Ha ha – I’ve set many a fire along the way! Usually because of mirrors or crystals reflecting the sun onto papers. I take it as a sign to protect myself better, on all levels. I do understand the fear factor though, in that respect I would suggest (physically) taking more precautions, and (spiritually) asking your guides to step in closer to aid in your workings. Anything that brings peace and connectedness is worth holding on to. Good luck if you do try it. (And you have my email if you need any help!) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  • Psychic Awakening | Shades of Life

    […] Tonight’s class will include a talk about mirroring, with an exercise in seeing you guide. You can read about that here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

