Mind Shifts

Okay, so I think you’ve probably noticed that, yet again, I haven’t posted in a while.

It’s not you.

It’s me.

My mind has been shifting around so much that I’m tiring myself out by simply thinking!

Decisive action is required to clear this somewhat cluttered head! As a result, my mind shifts have reflected badly on my work. As I mentioned a while ago, I put Wytch away for a time, to sleep, while I focused my thoughts. I’m quite happy with not working on the book. Yet, also consumed with the inner conflict of it’s direction, this conflict was bleeding into my writing and I couldn’t do the story justice.

My site is called The Way of Wytch, which suggests to me that it should be about Wytch, or at least witchcraft! And, while I usually have many things to say, I was trapped in radio silence (or blog silence), alongside a writers block. Actually, this is not true, I wasn’t blocked entirely, it is only this project that has obstacles, other words are still being written in other forms.

It was bought to my attention recently, that while I’m usually quite a creative individual, I wasn’t really creating anything. I then became annoyed at myself for meandering and generally pottering around, for not getting anything done! I’ve never been a finisher – I start many projects, becoming obsessive and quite crazy about them, but then they sit waiting, unfinished in a drawer, or on a shelf. Sometimes, they end up in the bin!

I know what my problem is. I’m currently looking for a job and this takes up a lot of my time; the endless applications, covering letters and re-writes of my CV is enough to drive me to sitting and staring at the wall for an hour! The amount of dross that gets posted in the vacancies sections online is rather disturbing, not to mention the fact that everyday I’m faced with the realisation of not actually being qualified in anything that doesn’t come under the sub-heading of “Hippy Chick”, or “flaky”. I nearly wish I was normal!

I said “nearly”.

I don’t actually mean it.

*End of Rant.

With much consideration, I have decided to spend a week reading Wytch, making changes, and getting down and dirty with this project. I will finish it.

More though, I have decided to have a shift around with my blog. Some of the wonderful blogs I follow seem to be more lifestyle focused with a good range of topics and articles. These, I noticed, were my favourite reads when online. I also like some of the challenges and themes that some of you have signed up for and would like to be involved in those too. I can’t remain Wytch specific. It’s good to have focus, but not to be blinkered.

There will be a name change and I will organise my posts. Some will be about my writing in general, others will still be very much Wytch focused. However, for the most part, it will be about other things that inspire and delight me. Hopefully, they will inspire and delight you too.

So if you notice that I’m missing here in cyber space, I won’t be missing for long, and I will have the new-look up and running very soon.

In the meantime, I’ll still be reading all of your posts. x

About Saxton-Corner

I write. I read. I am the Queen of procrastination. I drink tea. I laugh. I play Xbox. I am. View all posts by Saxton-Corner

4 responses to “Mind Shifts

Leave a Reply

